Purpose

There’s no escaping reason, no denying purpose, because as we both know, without purpose, we would not exist. It is purpose that created us. Purpose that connects us. Purpose that pulls us. That guides us. That drives us. It is purpose that defines. Purpose that binds us.

– Agent Smith (Matrix Reloaded)


Why another blog to add to those 100 million already existing? What would make someone have a look at this one over the others? Would this have content any different from others? Would it even cover anything not already in at least one of those others?

Well, for starters, this blog shall most definitely not have anything you already would find on another blog. ‘Divergent Aptitude’ is to serve as a collection of my thoughts and ideas about various things. Think of it as a book full of basic conceptual drafts of something to-be.

This blog serves as a channel for my hyper-active thought process to pour out (without which, my brain would probably expand till it pushes against my skull and you would gradually see the gray goo streaming out from my ears). I can never sit idle (and I don’t mean I keep twiddling my thumbs when I am doing nothing).  The gears of my brain are constantly turning, the cogs grinding against each other.  And no, I don’t come up with the answer to everything (which is ‘42‘, in case you still haven’t figured out), nor do I derive ‘E=mc2‘ or ‘F=ma‘ when I am done (although I was pretty close at one time).

It’s pretty random. More random than random is. The only thing that could be common to these thoughts is that they are all ‘the chaotic result of an avalanche of neural activity, triggered by the firing (for no apparent reason) of a random neuron, while in the process of giving thought to something very trivial’.

Confused? Let me explain.

Think about a thing. Any thing. I thought about an apple (has to be because I am starving right now).  At this point, most people would get up, grab an apple and start to munch on it. I would have too, if I had one in my house.

But it wasn’t so simple here. That random neuron fired! Leading me to vision an apple falling on Newton’s head. Obviously that lead to a fleeting thought on gravity. The picture of gravity warping the space-time fabric came to mind then. My thoughts went over manipulating the space-time fabric, leading to levitation. That brought me to the idea of telekinesis and spoon bending. I recollected a site where a person made a hobby out of bending forks. Images of 3-pronged forks and 4-pronged ones kept going through my mind. I gave that much thought. Who decided if forks had to have 3 or 4 prongs? How does one decide which one to buy? Does it even matter or do you just decide at random. That made me jump over to random numbers, random number generation, visual patterns of RNGs. Then I thought about something I had read once, on how patterns emerge out of most random numbers if you wait long enough. That lead me to think about SETI and how we may be searching for intelligent signals in a totally wrong way! And I spent a few hours thinking about it.

From ‘apple’ to ‘flaw in how we try to search for ET’. That’s how it usually goes with me.

So coming back to my initial point, it’s this random (yet in a way connected) flow of thoughts in my mind which leads me from one thing to another, usually ending in a few hours of pondering over something unexpected.  But as random and silly the process leading up to it may sound, the actual thoughts going over in my head over that ‘something’ are head-scratching. (Warning : To prevent  a ‘bald spot’ developing, try to scratch a different area of your head each time)

So why not pen (or in this case, type) them down? I used to, at one time, have a notebook where I would pen down these weird thoughts of mine. When I went back home this winter, I found I still have that book after 10-12 years now. That is what made me decide on a blog. I could use the blog to archive these thoughts, and it would make it easier for those interested, to read up on this ‘divergent’ thinking of mine.

So as you are aware, these thoughts develop randomly, and this blog will only represent a tiny minority of filtered thoughts which are worth archiving. So I don’t promise for this blog to be updated on a daily basis, but I most definitely will post once a couple of weeks (or thereabouts).

Thank you for reading up. I appreciate the valiant attempt at controlling your urge to either fall asleep on your keyboard (for the non-nerdy ones), or to hack into my blog and delete all the posts (for those nerds). I also appreciate your discussions/comments on these posts.

– filya

Add to FacebookAdd to DiggAdd to Del.icio.usAdd to StumbleuponAdd to RedditAdd to BlinklistAdd to TwitterAdd to TechnoratiAdd to Yahoo BuzzAdd to Newsvine

About Filya

'As you can see, we've had our eye on you for some time now, Mr. Jokhi. It seems that you've been living two lives. In one life, you're Firoz Jokhi, program writer for a respectable software company. You have a Social Security number, you pay your taxes, and... you help your wife carry out her garbage. The other life is lived in computers, where you go by the hacker alias Filya, and are guilty of virtually every computer crime we have a law for. One of these lives has a future, and one of them does not.' - The Matrix

Posted on January 3rd, 2009, in General and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 6 Comments.

  1. GOD… Seriously your thoughts are very random but I liked reading them. :) And as Jui said, its a great idea.. keep writing. We will keep reading :)

  2. Is it wierd that all of that actually kind of made sense?…
    This is a very nice first post – purpose sort of a post :)

  3. Phewww……finally you’ve found an outlet to your really random ideas…..and the best part of all…it isn’t me!!! :) :) yaaay!

    On a more serious note though…..nicely written!! Very clear phrasing of how random at times you really can be! ;) ask me about it! ;)
    Last but definitely not the least……I think it’s a great idea…….keep up the good work!!!

    • So be nice to me now. Or I get rid of the blog and get back to you with my gibberish :P
      Thanks for the first comments to my blog! :)

Leave a Reply

