2.8 days later – Chapter 1

I had my eye glued to a crack in the window for so long now that my nose had started to bruise with the constant rubbing against the window frame. The chaos in the streets below had long subsided, but I wanted to be sure. Very very sure. I didn’t want to go through what that guy had been through a couple of hours ago. Nobody in the world should have to go through that. Except maybe a couple of guys I know.

The thing with these ‘infected’ is that they don’t take a stroll, they don’t search for things, they don’t look for company, they don’t hunt, they don’t plan, for that matter, they literally don’t even think. (That sounds more and more like me!) Get the drift? Basically they don’t do much at all. Till they see a human that is. Not that they do any of the stuff above even then. But they do give a mindless a chase till they get hold of it or till they die chasing.

So me not sighting one in a couple of hours was not  proof of their absence. It probably meant there was no human around to trigger their weird sense of excitement. There could well be dozens of them just standing idle, doing absolutely nothing, just waiting for a sighting.

It had been a couple of days now since it began. It started out very different from how one would think it would. A few random cases of an unknown infection that seemed to be only slightly contagious. The infected got a high fever, blood-shot eyes, trembling extremities and an uncontrollable drooling. As if these symptoms weren’t enough to make you stay away from them! Even then, from the stories we heard, turns out the doctors and nurses were bitten (yes, bitten!) by the infected, and they didn’t think it was serious enough to treat themselves. Duh! So a lot of doctors and nurses themselves got into the ‘biting people’ business, and pretty soon the hospitals ran out of normal people. Since the infected had this obsessive compulsion to bite people, they had no options but to run onto the streets. And all this happened within the very first day of infection.

When people were bitten, either of two things usually happened. They escaped with a bite, but were really stupid not to do anything about it and within hours were seen biting others. The second scenario was the terrifying one. If the person could not escape, he would go through the ordeal of watching the infected take bite-sized chunks out of his body. Yes, that was what I wished no one would have to go through – the infected feasting on the person while he was still alive. To make matters worse, the person’s cries of pain would lure more of the infected to him and they would all enjoy their ‘happy meal’.

So I was shit scared at the thought of going out on the streets. Heck, I was shit scared of even leaving my room. But I was out of food since the previous day. That’s the problem with not cooking and instead relying on take-outs and pizza deliveries – you run out of things to eat in the house. Between slowly starving to death and making a quick meal of yourself, the faster death seemed the lesser horror. So as much as I hated it, I had to get out and get myself something to eat.

Now I was very well aware that this wasn’t as easy as running across the street, grabbing a pizza and heading back home to enjoy it with chips on the side. This would be impossible! I was out of chips too, you see. And of course, the pizza place workers were either infected or dead a long time ago. So I had to think hard about how I was going to do this.

I have loved all those popcorn-crunching ‘Resident Evil‘ movies I had watched. I have enjoyed books like ‘World War Z‘ which have invited weird looks from my fellow passengers. Of late, the ‘Left 4 Dead‘ games have provided hours of exhilaration to my friends and myself. In all of these, the scenario is pretty similar to what I was facing now – to survive the panic during the initial outbreak, to hide, fight and escape with your life the next few days, and gradually travel to a distant place where against all odds, infection hasn’t spread yet.

All of those converged on a few simple suggestions for surviving this kind of an apocalypse. No one knows whether these do really work or if there is even any semblance of truth behind these, but if I were to make it out alive, I decided I would have to try and follow those suggestions to the letter.

But first, I really needed to appease my stomach which was growling with anger each passing minute.

Add to FacebookAdd to DiggAdd to Del.icio.usAdd to StumbleuponAdd to RedditAdd to BlinklistAdd to TwitterAdd to TechnoratiAdd to Yahoo BuzzAdd to Newsvine

In this series:

Chapter 1
Chapter 2
Chapter 3
Chapter 4
Chapter 5
Chapter 6

About Filya

'As you can see, we've had our eye on you for some time now, Mr. Jokhi. It seems that you've been living two lives. In one life, you're Firoz Jokhi, program writer for a respectable software company. You have a Social Security number, you pay your taxes, and... you help your wife carry out her garbage. The other life is lived in computers, where you go by the hacker alias Filya, and are guilty of virtually every computer crime we have a law for. One of these lives has a future, and one of them does not.' - The Matrix

Posted on February 22nd, 2011, in Humor and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 7 Comments.

  1. Was this one of the dreams you had after playing L4D? :D Nicely written..

  1. Pingback: 2.8 days later – Chapter 6 « Divergent Aptitude

  2. Pingback: 2.8 days later – Chapter 5 « Divergent Aptitude

  3. Pingback: 2.8 days later – Chapter 4 « Divergent Aptitude

  4. Pingback: 2.8 days later – Chapter 3 « Divergent Aptitude

  5. Pingback: 2.8 days later – Chapter 2 « Divergent Aptitude

Leave a Reply

